September 20, 2021

Nominations are open for the Sports Women of the Year Awards 2021.

The 2021 Sunday Times Sports Women of the Year Awards launches a nationwide call for nominations this Sunday (September 12).

The prestigious awards, now in its 34th year, have led to recognition and celebration of women’s outstanding participation in sports at all levels, from the elite to the grassroots.

For the next two weeks, the British public are invited to submit nominations for seven categories Nominations are open until 11:59 pm on 27 September.

1. Sunday Times Sports Woman of the Year 2021.
The ultimate compliment for your favorite sportswoman of the year.

2. Young Sports Woman of the Year.
Nominees must be 21 years of age or younger by January 1, 2021.

3. Sports Women of the Year with Disabilities.
Outstanding performer in the sport of disability.

4. Team of the Year
Celebrating the achievements of the UK’s successful collective efforts.

5. Change Maker Award.
Persuading people who have influenced others and used their platforms for change.

5. Grass Roots Award.
For those who are actively involved with different groups of people in their community through sports.

6. Helen Rollson Award for Encouragement.
Acknowledgment of the inspiring effort in honor of the late Helen Rollason.

Rebecca Myers, a sports journalist for the Sunday Times, said.

“After a difficult year, the women’s sport is back in 2021 with vengeance, amazing performances at Wimbledon, the Olympics, the Paralympics, the Women’s Super League, and much more.

The SWOTY Awards recognize the immense strength and iron will of successful women in sports who are at the forefront of their professional careers, inspiring others to do something new over the weekend. We are also pleased to introduce the ‘Change Maker Award’ which will honor those who use their influence and platform to impress and inspire others.

The online nomination process will close on Monday, September 27 at 11:59 p.m.

A panel of experts will then select the relevant shortlist. This year’s judging panel includes household names Gabby Logan (BBC Sports Presenter), Cammy Alcott (former World Cup Alpine Ski Racer), Emma Agbiz (former England netball captain and Commonwealth Games gold medalist), Rebecca Adlington and BE (World and Olympic Champion Swimmer), Kate Richardson Walsh OBE (Former England and GB Hockey Captain and Olympic Gold Medalist), Natalie Sawyer (Co-host of Talk Sports Week and Sports Breakfast Show), Chris Wellington OB E (four-time Iron Man Triathlon World Champion), Tiny Gray Thompson OBE (Paralympics and World Champion Wheelchair Racer), Eli Symonds OBE (Paralympic and World Champion Swimmer), Laura Woods (Talk Sport and Sky Sports Presenter), BE (Olympic and World Champion Rover)

The shortlist will be announced and voting will open on Sunday, October 17. The public will be able to vote for their winners until Wednesday, November 17.

The winners will be announced at the Live Stream Awards on Thursday, November 25.

Previous winners of the main award, the Sports Women’s Award of the Year, include Dina Asher Smith, Alice Christie, Sally Gunnell, Tiny Gray Thompson, Dennis Lewis, Dame Kelly Holmes, Zara Phillips, Victoria Pendleton and Christine O’Higgins. British jockey Holly Doyle, who competed in flat racing, was crowned Sports Woman of the Year last November 2021.

The Sports Women of the Year Awards are the most prestigious and influential in the British sports calendar and are co-sponsored by the Sports and Recreation Alliance, UK Sport, Sport England and Women in Sports.

Follow the latest news and join #SWOTY to reach the awards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *